IKI is opening a new supermarket in Vilnius on 8 October, with developer Tewox confirming a €6 million investment in the property and a long-term lease to the Lithuanian grocery chain.

The development at Tunelio Street 4A was completed by UAB Esulda, a company managed by Tewox. The investment figure relates to the property project; it was not disclosed as IKI’s own capital expenditure.

Tewox’s stock-exchange announcement, published on 8 October, puts the total leasable area at approximately 2,100 square metres. IKI’s separate announcement on 7 October describes a store of more than 1,200 square metres. Those figures cover different measures and should not be treated as interchangeable selling-space totals.

The outlet uses IKI’s largest, three-heart format. Its planned range includes up to 12,000 products, with fresh meat, dairy, bakery, prepared food, fruit and vegetables alongside frozen and ambient groceries. Eight self-service checkouts and three staffed tills support the operation.

The site sits in Naujininkai, between the railway station and Vilnius airport. IKI has positioned it to serve both neighbourhood shopping and customers travelling through the area. That combination gives the store a broader role than a small convenience outlet, with space for larger baskets as well as quick visits.

IKI competes with Maxima, Lidl and Norfa among Lithuania’s supermarket chains. This opening adds a large-format location in the capital rather than signalling entry into a new national market.

For Lithuanian fresh produce suppliers, the commercial relevance lies in the fresh-led range and another urban distribution point. The announcement does not disclose new supplier contracts, local sourcing commitments or expected sales, so the opening should not be read as confirmation of additional listings.

Tewox says two further stores will be built in Lithuania during 2026, taking its development programme beyond 10,000 square metres of leasable space this year. It has not identified those stores’ operators in this announcement.

Editor’s note: Based on Tewox’s 8 October 2026 stock-exchange announcement and IKI’s Lithuanian-language release of 7 October. GTN added analysis of the property figures, store format and supplier implications.